The Mishnah is an exegetical body of compiled Jewish laws which collects and consolidates the oral tradition developed in the Jewish religion over the centuries since the time of the written Torah's laws, and even their coding into the hands of Rabbi Yehuda Hanasi towards the end of the century.

The body of law called the Mishnah, is the basis of Jewish law and oral rabbinic traditions, which together with the Torah, make up the halacha. In turn, the Mishnah was expanded with commentary for three centuries by the sages of Babylon , the Gemara – in both the original Mishnah and Gemara exegesis and they jointly received the name of Talmud.

Structure of the Mishnah

The Mishna is written in short verses way in Hebrew, called mishnayot, which classify, summarize and consolidate the numerous oral laws developed and discussed by the sages of the time, and the Tanaim with the same meaning as Mishnah. The mishnayot are grouped into 527 chapters and each of these sections are called masejtot.

Compiled together, they make up the six books of the Mishnah called the Seder that cover all the Halache. These books are the Zeraim, with rules related to land work; the Mo'ed, contain law on Jewish holidays, fasts and the Shabbat; the Nashim, with laws related to marital life; the Nezkim, compilimg halacha related to civil and commercial laws; the Kodashi, containing religious laws of the Temple of Jerusalem; and the Teharot, precepting the rituals of purification of the body.

Both versions of the Talmud, the Jerusalem and Babylonian are also sorted in the order of the six aforementioned books.

Comments are closed.